Recorded Music | 30.09.2021


Domestic La La is pleased to welcome Melbourne indie-rock, psych and experimental-infused outfit Divers to the roster. When the four-piece popped up as a recommendation for the label’s weekly discovery playlist, Tuna Tuesday, they landed an immediate new fan in label head and Violent Soho guitarist James Tidswell.

Divers – comprising multi-instrumentalists Ben Bray, Scott McQuilten, Jake Green and Tom Evans– recall the excitement of connecting with James and unearthing their synergy and mutual affection for Australian music.

“James hit us up out of the blue and bought some merch, it was really surreal for us as we’re huge fans,” says the band.We ended up sending him a cassette of our next single – not even as a plug or anything, just as a gift and a thank you – because he really genuinely loves and supports local music.”

With their instant click in energy revealed, soon James and the Divers camp would jump from Tuna Tuesdays to sharing cassettes, to meeting on zoom and beginning a true Domestic La La love story. The band now join the likes of Dear Seattle, LOSER, West Thebarton and Teen Jesus and the Jean Teasers on the growing DLL roster, and are now making their label debut with the re-issue of their 2020 EP Now I’m Home and the reveal of a new music video for one of its hero singles ‘Lost With You’.

Commenting on the signing, James Tidswell shares:

“I heard Divers on our Tuna Tuesday playlist and loved them instantly. I immediately bought a t-shirt to show my support and they included a demo cassette tape in the order. I listened to it over and over but to be honest I knew they needed to be on Domestic La La as soon as I saw the blank cassette sitting on top of the t-shirt. I am so incredibly stoked to have them on and as part of the Domestic La La family.”

Divers are also pleased to join Destroy All Lines Agency alongside the likes of Polaris, Majak Door, The Gloom In The Corner, Justice For The Damned, Wolf & Chain, Thornhill & more. Listen to Divers’ Now I’m Home EP here:

Video credit: Ben Schoonderbeek



1. Lost With You
2. Wasted Days
3. Old Friend
4. The Perfect Hand
5. Familiar Patterns

About Divers:Embodying tethers of Tame Impala, DMA’s, and MGMT, Divers is defined by risk-taking, turning memories and feelings into sound, and, ultimately giving their audience the same joy-boost from listening to their tunes as the group themselves receive from creating them. The bright and twinkly‘Lost With You’ appears on Now I’m Home, alongside the soaring ‘Familiar Patterns’ and alt rock-pop fire cracker ‘The Perfect Hand’.

Since its original release in September 2020 the EP has spawned knockout reviews from triple jstaff, support offers from rising Australian acts including Majak Door and The Terrys and close to 12,000 streams – all from the DIY efforts of the Divers collective. Now sitting perched on the Domestic La La roster, Divers stand poised to enter the national scene’s conscious before too long.

Divers’ Now I’m Home EP is out now via Domestic La La.

Ben Bray (vocals, guitar, bass)
Scott McQuilten (vocals, guitar, bass, synth, percussion)
Jake Green (vocals, guitar, bass)
Tom Evans (drums, drum machine)